A big thank you to Kim from Low Carb Maven for guest posting for Wholesome Yum while I take a break to spend time with my newborn. Today Kim is sharing her amazing keto low carb creme brulee recipe! I’m so happy to be guest posting for Maya today as she takes some time off with her beautiful family. I blog at Low Carb Maven and while I don’t post desserts very often, I am known to have some great dessert recipes. Please enjoy. Desserts are something I always enjoy making – whether it’s something more complicated like this great sex-in-a-pan dessert from Maya or a recipe that’s elegant in its simplicity. You can always find me tinkering in the kitchen with new and classic flavors alike. Like this delicious vanilla bean low carb creme brulee. I can’t remember the last time I made a creme brulee. It must have been at least 10 years ago for a dinner party, soon after we brought our daughter home from China. This was back when we still had time for dinner parties. I remember her smiling and kicking her feet in pleasure with each taste. Oh how the time flies!

I’m not sure why it’s taken me so long to make low carb creme brulee again, but this was my son’s first introduction. He loved it, too, and was quite put-out when all of the recipe testing was over and the desserts were gone! Aside from this vanilla bean creme brulee, I also tested an ultra-decadent low carb chocolate truffle creme brulee. They were both fantastic and the family was thoroughly impressed. Keto creme brulee is such an easy and elegant dessert, and vanilla is the gold standard. Who can resist the flavor and texture of this classic dessert? I know I can’t. With the regular version made with sugar, egg yolks and cream, it’s one of the easiest recipes to convert to low carb.

For this keto creme brulee recipe, I used vanilla bean powder to provide those characteristic tiny black flecks. If you have a real vanilla bean, 1/3 of the bean would suffice. You could even use 1-2 teaspoons of vanilla extract (to taste), if you’d rather use that. The vanilla powder was convenient to use and I loved the taste. The only thing we noticed is that the vanilla beans had the tendency to sink to the bottom of the ramekin as the dessert cooked. Many recipes for creme brulee mention to strain the custard mixture after blending the ingredients together. I find that as long as the chalazae are removed (the tough white stringy thing that holds the yolk in the center of the egg) from the yolk, then there is no need for straining. Do whatever makes you comfortable. The water bath is simple, just requiring that the ramekins be put into a pan or baking dish that comfortably holds them. You just need room for water to circulate half way up the sides of the ramekins. The whole dessert comes together in about 10-15 minutes and cooks for 30. Make sure to give the low carb creme brulee at least 4 hours of chilling time, but overnight is best. It will hold in the fridge for 2-3 days, but make sure to enjoy within 5 days after cooking. Kim creates delicious low carb recipes in her southern California home and blogs at Low Carb Maven. You can find her on social media on Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram and Twitter.

Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it! Serving size: 1 creme brulee