Other days tantamount to epic Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Taco day:

The day I realized the correct phrase is “for all intents and purposes,” not “for all intensive purposes.” (It’s true…and I didn’t find out until I was in my 20s!)The day I peeled a banana from the bottom instead of the top (TRY IT).The day I discovered baked bacon.

Shredded chicken tacos have been a trusty, easy recipe standby in my emergency dinner rotation since I first learned to combine salsa and chicken in a slow cooker and turned it on. Come to think of it, salsa chicken has been a trusty, easy recipe standby in my non-emergency dinner rotation too. Sometimes I’d make it in the slow cooker, and sometimes I’d start with this basic tutorial for How to Make Shredded Chicken and then add salsa. (This Baked Chicken Breast is a new favorite in our house too.) I thought we’d carry on happily for years, this basic salsa chicken and I, until a few weeks ago when I found myself wanting…more.

More flavor.A better, juicier texture.A faster cook time.

I’d gussied the shredded chicken up, but I hadn’t solved the essential problem: how to make truly excellent shredded Mexican chicken that I could use for tacos, burritos, enchiladas, or in any which way I pleased. Oh, and the prep for this mystery shredded chicken of my dreams still needed to be minimal and the cook time fast too.

How to Make Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos

Cue the Instant Pot. In addition to slashing the shredded chicken’s cook time, the Instant Pot’s sauté function made it a one-step snap to brown the chicken before cooking it, which had a profound, positive impact on its final flavor, as did sautéing the onions and spices. (Another Instant Pot winner with a similar flavor profile: Instant Pot Mexican Casserole!)

Ingredients

Chicken. I opted to use boneless, skinless chicken breasts in this recipe. However, if you’re a fan of dark meat, feel free to use boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead.

Chipotle Chilis. My other mega-flavor tip for next-level shredded chicken tacos. The chipotle chilis give the chicken a deep, smoky flavor that makes it taste as if you’ve been cooking it for hours low and slow, instead of 8 minutes in the pressure cooker.

Avocados. Add a creamy, cool factor that balances the shredded chicken’s spice.

Diced Tomatoes. Don’t drain these. The tomatoes and their juices functions as the primary cooking liquid for the chicken in the Instant Pot.Onions and Garlic. Provides a great base of flavor when sautéed in the Instant Pot.Chili Powder. Add an additional layer of heat, spice and flavor to the chickenLime. Add a little zip and acidity to balance the flavors.

Directions

I would be hard-pressed to imagine an occasion where easy Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos wouldn’t be welcome.

Mixed with rice and beans as a burrito bowl.As a filling for enchiladas.On top of this Skinny Taco Salad.Rolled up in a jumbo, low-carb tortilla as a burrito

They’re impressive enough to serve your in-laws for a family dinner.A guaranteed crowd-pleaser that would be a hit at any game day party (So would these Flank Steak Tacos).

For maximum hosting ease, you can keep the shredded chicken taco filling warm in the Instant Pot (or transfer it to a slow cooker and keep it warm there), set out the toppings and shells, and let guests build their own tacos. (Or try this Crockpot Mexican Chicken, which can keep warm in the slow cooker.)

Tools to Make Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos

Instant PotFood processor (if making the avocado sauce)

Instant Pot Chicken Mole

50 mins

Instant Pot Mexican Casserole

1 hr 15 mins

Instant Pot Refried Beans

1 hr 45 mins

Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 58Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 96Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 42Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 46Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 99Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 37Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 95Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 58Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 36Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos  Crowd Pleasing     WellPlated com - 5